My Opportunity

Dear friend,

As I continue down the path that God has laid for my family in Indiana, I am continually seeking ways to improve myself. Often, I find myself still trying to figure out how to make more of a difference within my sphere of influence. I have been on a journey of self-discovery in which I am seeking to learn what humble service means. Studying urban ministry in New York City and in Washington D.C. pushed me farther than I could have imagined. My heart was broken for many people who cannot help themselves. Whether they were homeless, terminally ill, or elderly and thrown away by society; engaging, befriending, and serving those less fortunate than me caused me to rethink myself. The truth is that I could see myself in many of th
e people I was sent to serve. I saw more of God working in some of their lives than I see in my own comfortable circles and even in myself.

My desire is to continue to push myself and allow God to teach me what it means to be His humble servant. He has been at work in many ways in our lives since we moved to Indiana. Through the Tri-S program at Anderson University, I now have the opportunity to experience ministry in Calcutta, India for two weeks in May. The cost of this trip has been subsidized, but will still be $1,600. During this time I will serve at Mother Teresa’s Missionaries of Charity homes. Here, people are brought in from the streets and given the care they need. Some are severly ill, while some are orphaned. Others I know who have participated in the trip have said it is very challenging both emotionally and physically. It is also said to be an incredible experience spiritually.

Although I do not feel called to long-term international missions, I do feel that God has provided this opportunity for me to continue to experience and learn what it is to live a life of service to Him and what it means to serve with compassion.  These experiences will help me as I continue down a path that is leading me towards community development and urban ministry in the states.

Beyond your prayers, if you feel led to join me by financially supporting this mission that God has called me to, I would be most grateful.  Checks can be made payable to Anderson University with my name in the memo line and sent to either me at 1700 University Blvd., Anderson, IN 46012 or directly to the Tri-S office of Anderson University at 1100 E. 5th St., Anderson, IN 46012.

I’ll look forward to updating you on my progress and on the trip. Thank you for your support.

God bless!
Tom Tijerina

Leave a Reply

